PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:56 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:17 am
Posts: 2
hi everyone,
i'm new to this forum and want to start learning php. Hope i will be getting help from this prestegious board.
i'm unable to run localhost. here is my question:
windows vista business is installed my pc and no IIS is found at administrative tools>services. but when i click on start to run wampapache service in administrative tools>service i found an error there that is: ""windows could not start the wampapache on local computer. for more information, review the system event log. if this is a non-microsoft service, contact the service vendor, and refer to service-specific error code 1.""
when i go to event log there is and "event id 3299"
please tell me how can i overcome this problem to start my php programming

thanx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:28 pm 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey
Which WAMP did you install?

I recommend...(from when I use to use windows, dont know if something better has come along)
http://www.wampserver.com/en/
Easy to install and use.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:26 pm 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Posts: 14293
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
Why not ditch wamp and install apache by itself? It installs in minutes and installs all of its controls as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:00 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:17 am
Posts: 2
i donwload it from download.com because it was not downloading from http://www.wampserver.com/en/ , i don't know wy.
and it's "WampServer2.0a" from download.com
now can u tell me what i need to make my localhost runable on my pc.

thanx
jaoudestudios wrote:
Which WAMP did you install?

I recommend...(from when I use to use windows, dont know if something better has come along)
http://www.wampserver.com/en/
Easy to install and use.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:32 am 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey
Is WAMP running? It does not have to be online, but php needs to be running. You can tell by left clicking on the wamp symbol at the bottom right of the screen near the clock and seeing if there is a |> (play icon) next to php.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group