PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 11:20 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:14 am 
Offline
Briney Mod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:11 pm
Posts: 6444
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W
califdon wrote:
The FAQ only says that there are forum and topic icons, but it doesn't say what they mean--or at least, I haven't found anyplace that says. It would be nice to know what it means when the icon is animated, or has a solid color, or has a big dot on it, or whatever.


subSilver2 has a legend at the bottom of every forum page. Doesn't look like proSilver does though.

_________________
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:06 am 
Offline
Jack of Zircons
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Posts: 4484
Location: California, USA
pickle wrote:
subSilver2 has a legend at the bottom of every forum page. Doesn't look like proSilver does though.

Ahh, I had switched to proSilver. Thanks, pickle. But even in subSilver2, it doesn't say what the black dot on the icon means. I don't know why I'm so concerned about it, I guess I just like to understand what somebody is trying to tell me.


[Edit: ...YUCK! How come quotes work for you, but not for me??!! I want my money back!!]

EDIT | d11wtq - Because you've got the "Disable BBCode" box checked ;)


Last edited by Weirdan on Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
fixed bbcode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:22 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:13 pm
Posts: 5978
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
califdon wrote:
[Edit: ...YUCK! How come quotes work for you, but not for me??!! I want my money back!!]

Yeah... when posting make sure 'Disable BBCode' checkbox is unchecked. It's in the 'Options' tab, below a posting form.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:13 pm
Posts: 5978
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
califdon wrote:
But even in subSilver2, it doesn't say what the black dot on the icon means. I don't know why I'm so concerned about it, I guess I just like to understand what somebody is trying to tell me.

Like I said, it marks topics you participated in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:15 pm 
Offline
Jack of Zircons
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Posts: 4484
Location: California, USA
[quote="Weirdan"]Like I said, it marks topics you participated in.[/quote]
You said that??

In any case, thanks for both clarifications. Right now, I'm using subSilver2 and staring directly at the Options area, and it tells me that BBCode is OFF, but there is no box to uncheck and the link just goes to a FAQ page about BBCode. I've looked in my profile, but I can't find any global setting there, either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:13 pm
Posts: 5978
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
califdon wrote:
You said that??

Yes, on the previous page. You must have missed my post.

califdon wrote:
In any case, thanks for both clarifications. Right now, I'm using subSilver2 and staring directly at the Options area, and it tells me that BBCode is OFF, but there is no box to uncheck and the link just goes to a FAQ page about BBCode. I've looked in my profile, but I can't find any global setting there, either.

Hmm... i'm using the proSilver theme:
Attachment:
File comment: post options
bbcode.options.png
bbcode.options.png [ 18.89 KiB | Viewed 9298 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:13 pm
Posts: 5978
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Ok, I found what you have been looking for (using subsilver):
Global options:
Attachment:
File comment: bbcode global options
subsilver.bbcode.options.png
subsilver.bbcode.options.png [ 21.54 KiB | Viewed 9296 times ]


Post options:
Attachment:
File comment: post options
bbcode.post.options.png
bbcode.post.options.png [ 27.95 KiB | Viewed 9296 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:36 am 
Offline
DevNet Resident

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:27 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Southern Ontario
<edit> W00t.... [b]1000th[/b] post!
This is what I see...


Attachments:
Clipboard04.jpg
Clipboard04.jpg [ 37 KiB | Viewed 9278 times ]
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg [ 32.75 KiB | Viewed 9278 times ]


Last edited by nickvd on Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:54 am 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Posts: 14293
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
Thanks, both of you. I will be looking into this more tomorrow. Califdon, that is interesting. I have not seen that yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:19 am 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:14 pm
Posts: 3635
Location: Toronto, Canada
it did the same for me until I logged out, then in again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline
Jack of Zircons
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Posts: 4484
Location: California, USA
The only thing that really annoyed me was where it shows if you have any friends online, it told me I don't HAVE any friends! :p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:07 am 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:14 pm
Posts: 3635
Location: Toronto, Canada
Unpopular Don is..... unpopular.

I actually have NO idea what the friend thing is all about - I added a few people to see if it made any sort of difference to anything, and I have yet to notice. But or what it's worth, I'll be your friend. For a price.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:15 pm 
Offline
Jack of Zircons
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Posts: 4484
Location: California, USA
Kieran, you're alright! (I don't care what everybody else says)

But back on topic, I still don't understand why I can't use BBCode, even though my profile is set to Enable By Default.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:19 pm 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Posts: 14293
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
Have you tried switching themes to see if it affects you there as well?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site moved... Again
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:14 pm 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:14 pm
Posts: 3635
Location: Toronto, Canada
[quote="califdon"]Kieran, you're alright! (I don't care what everybody else says)[/quote]
80


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group