PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:51 am 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:23 pm
Posts: 25
So I had a bad ntfs3g driver, which managed to corrupt part of my windows partition. I've installed a working driver and I have a backup of the User dir that got messed up, but I can't put it in place unless I get rid of the corrupted one. However neither Windows nor Linux will let me get rid of it. Windows just gives me the usual corrupted error (whether I use the net admin superuser or in safe mode, or recovery console) and Linux just tells me "The Operation Is Not Allowed" or "A Problem Occured When Deleting [My Pictures, My Music, etc.]".

Halp.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:18 am 
Offline
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:50 pm
Posts: 738
Location: Carolina, USA
Have you tried removing the directory as a superuser in Linux? (sudo ....)

Remember, NTFS = New "Toothpick" File System. I call it that because like a structure built with toothpicks, if you remove just one, everything related to it goes down. Same for NTFS due to its structure.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:21 pm 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:23 pm
Posts: 25
I have, but to no avail.

I'm completely stumped as to how to get rid of this 48GB hole in my HD without formatting the damn thing, and frankly I'd rather not go through the trials and tribulations of setting up a triple boot system and configuring every one of my OSs again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:37 pm 
Offline
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:50 pm
Posts: 738
Location: Carolina, USA
Make an image of your two working OS's. Instead of reformatting, do some reimaging! re-install W7, then try simply using SuperGrub to get the boot loader back. If that doesn't work, do a base install of the other two OS's, and rather than trying to re-configure them, just re-image the partitions with the old image.

Good Luck!

P.s. I know the pain. Now I just use a Virtual Machine to play with new OS's instead of my actual computer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:10 pm 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:23 pm
Posts: 25
Unfortunately I don't have the kind of space to store an image. =\


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:06 pm 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 10:24 pm
Posts: 6887
Use your windows installation cd to run a disk check.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group