cPanel/WHM - how do you add the nameserver to the account?

Need help installing PHP, configuring a script, or configuring a server? Then come on in and post your questions! We'll try to help the best we can!

Moderator: General Moderators

Post Reply
simonmlewis
DevNet Master
Posts: 4434
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

cPanel/WHM - how do you add the nameserver to the account?

Post by simonmlewis »

We have a new account with godaddy using their VPS. However, even though you are given the nameservers to use and pointing your domain to, it's not actually set to your account domains.

Does anyone know where in WHM or cPanel you go to for entering these details.

Thx.
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.
User avatar
Celauran
Moderator
Posts: 6425
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:39 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: cPanel/WHM - how do you add the nameserver to the accoun

Post by Celauran »

Nameservers are typically entered at the registrar level
simonmlewis
DevNet Master
Posts: 4434
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: cPanel/WHM - how do you add the nameserver to the accoun

Post by simonmlewis »

Yes - so you tell the registrar where to point the domain.
But the nameserver appears not to be assigned to the new hosting account, and the hosting company are best part useless in their "unmanaged" support.
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.
User avatar
Celauran
Moderator
Posts: 6425
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:39 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: cPanel/WHM - how do you add the nameserver to the accoun

Post by Celauran »

Not sure exactly where you fall here, but was this not helpful? https://ca.godaddy.com/help/change-name ... -names-664
simonmlewis
DevNet Master
Posts: 4434
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: cPanel/WHM - how do you add the nameserver to the accoun

Post by simonmlewis »

Not really, as it doesn't tell you where in WHM to assign the nameserver to that VPS.
It's only about how to tell the registrar.
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.
Post Reply