PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
It is currently Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:15 pm 
Forum Contributor

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 10:05 pm
Posts: 416
Location: San Jose CA
Don't really know which forum to use, but here it is. I tried posting at but with their layout, its gonna take months before I get a reply.

I followed the tutorial there, but to no avail. Here's my httpd.conf file (not all of it... just the relevant):
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
NameVirtualHost *

#commentary removd

<VirtualHost *>
    DocumentRoot "C:/Program Files/EasyPHP1-7/www/"
    CustomLog "C:/Program Files/EasyPHP1-7/www/" combined
    ErrorLog "C:/Program Files/EasyPHP1-7/www/"

But I can't get to it from my browser. I have a feeling that this is not all of what I need to do to host a page on my computer. Has anyone had any luck with this?

I'm running WAMP on XP Home

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 7:15 am 
Forum Commoner

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:41 am
Posts: 46
Location: watford / leicester, UK
are you looking to actually have this available on the internet or just as a dev site that mirrors your live environment? I only ask as I think you may need to add a entry for the site into your hosts file found at somewhere similar to:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\ and is called hosts.

There should be a entry in there for your localhost localhost

I think you might need to add the domain after localhost e.g. localhost yourdomain

and then reboot. I *think* the whole point of the star after NameVirtualHost is that it assumes the domain to be on the local machine unless a specific IP or named host is mentioned. I caveat all this by saying I am no expert and am still figuring these things out for myself, but I have had similar problems and I run WinXP Pro.


 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 9:00 am 
Forum Contributor

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:03 am
Posts: 106
You don't need to reboot - hosts changes come into effect immediately.

The line is, simply:

Your host name must match the IP the server is sitting on, so change either the host or IP address in the above line ( almost always works)

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group