PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:10 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:04 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question, in which case I apologise. I suspect my question is quite a hard one, but here goes. I am writing a fairly simple database application using PHP and MySQL. I need to have the application generate graphs (bar-graphs, pie-charts etc.), which I'd prefer to do using PHP (something like JPowered, I guess).

The tricky part, is that I want to be able to link to the graphs that I've generated in some way from a Word document report. In other words, if I generate a graph, I want to put that graph into my Word document, and if the underlying data in the database changes, then I want the graph to change in the Word document. I don't mind having to manually refresh something to make this happen, of course, but I don't want to have to regenerate each graph and copy it back into the Word document.

I'm guessing this involves using Linked Objects in Microsoft Word - and so the only solution I can currently think of is to export the data into Microsoft Excel and generate the graphs in Excel. That's ok, but I'd rather avoid the middle-step if possible.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Even a vague possibility would be helpful, as at the moment I have no good ideas at all!

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:22 am 
Offline
Briney Mod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:11 pm
Posts: 6444
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W
To the best of my knowledge, when you place an image into a Word document - it gets copied into that document. Therefore, any remote updates don't change the local copy. I'm not sure this can be done.

_________________
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:26 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:04 am
Posts: 2
pickle wrote:
To the best of my knowledge, when you place an image into a Word document - it gets copied into that document. Therefore, any remote updates don't change the local copy. I'm not sure this can be done.


Ah well, that's true, but Word has the option of pasting a link - you do "Paste Special" and say "Paste Link". It works, for example, if you copy an Excel spreadsheet, but not for most other objects I've tried. I think it's OLE?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group