PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:25 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:30 am
Posts: 9
My friend was given a 2nd year project of building a biometric class attendance system,that was to take finger print of each student taking a particular unit as a method of ensuring the student attends at least 80% of the classes.i will be assisting him in the project and we will be using PHP as our development language,now my question was.is their a way of linking a php application with a biometric finger print scanner,and if so how or where can we find the information to guide us on how to do so :?: :?: please help us guys :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 am 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:54 pm
Posts: 13564
Location: New York, NY, US
It depends more on the capabilities of the biometric finger print scanner. If it can send HTTP request to a domain/IP address then it can communicate with PHP. If you are running the webserver/PHP on scanning station then PHP could read a port or execute a program that reads a port.

_________________
(#10850)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:21 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:30 am
Posts: 9
@Christopher,thanks for your reply ,the app will be running on a fixed station(only one computer),aleast you gave me an idea of where to start on,because i didn't know about serial ports support in php :D ..... for anyone who didn't know about this too and want to learn on how to make your php talk to other devices i think this a good place to start http://www.brainboxes.com/faq/items/how-do-i-control-a-serial-port-using-php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:28 pm 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:54 pm
Posts: 13564
Location: New York, NY, US
If there is not a PHP library to connect to whatever device you are using, you can also execute a program on the computer using PHP -- sending it parameters and getting back its output. See exec() and related functions.

_________________
(#10850)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:19 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:30 am
Posts: 9
@Christopher,thanks so much.av taken a look at the PHP Program execution Functions you've suggested ,and though their is a lot to still learn in there i think they'll come in very handy as i move forward with the project :)
http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.exec.php#ref.exec


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group