PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:47 am 
Forum Contributor

Hi, I guess backups are part of security so I chose this section of the forum. I am about to start a regular weekly backup of my CentOS 5 Linux VPS system using tar then copying the output file down to my home machine. I created an exclude file of directories not to back up based upon Google searches (many asking the same question "what not to back up"). Some of the directories below are empty but I put them in with the * at the end because someone pointed out that this will create the directory again during the return even if it is empty and often you want that. In other words it backs up the directory but nothing in the directory. In the past I was a good Linux/Ksh shell script-er but I am not an expert on Linux administration. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks John.

List of Directories inside the tar exclude file: The database is being double backed up daily (phpMyAdmin, mysqldump+incremental)
Quote:
/var/lib/mysql/MyDatabase/*
/var/www/html/*
/dev/*
/tmp/*
/proc/*
/lost+found
/mnt/*
/media/*
/run/*
/sys/*

I was reading up on the restore at this link. It mentions some of the above directories but has comments as to what are in the directories. It has VPS backup/restore tips as well.
http://serverfault.com/questions/479336 ... -for-a-vps

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:29 pm 
Forum Contributor

It is from a hosting company. It is a low cost package (did that on purpose to force myself to learn). They backup the VPS weekly but they are slow to do a restore and expensive if you want it fast.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 5:54 pm 
Forum Contributor

I would suggest that it comes down to how much you know about linux and how quickly you could re-deploy the OS that your systems are running on.