PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
I've recently been looking at iMac, and going for the 21.5" model.
It's only in the early stages of my thoughts. But here are some things I do on Windows that I am not sure can be done on Mac, so hopefully anyone who does have one can enlighten me

When I am installing and testing a website that currently points to another server, I update the hosts file in Windows to fake the IP - pointing the domain to our server IP. How do you do that on a Mac/iMac?

On Windows Mail I have an email signature with our company logo embedded in it via a <img> tag to a hosted image. I cannot see how to implement that on the Mail App.

I can install other Fonts on Windows really easily to work with for new clients if they have the font, or I have downloading one to use. It's usually a TTF file. How do you do the same thing on a Mac? Bearing in mind our strong security is on a Mac...!

For what I do, it may not be of benefit at all. I don't do hardly any video work. I do a fair bit on Photoshop, and a lot via a Browser, plus I handle emails and Skype all day. Plus, I am use to a Logitech ergo mouse that fills the hand. The Magic Mouse 2 (like the previous version) looks impossible to use all day. It's not designed for ergonomics at all. I've seen nothing but poor reviews on how uncomfortable it is to use for any length of time.

Thoughts and advice please on anyone who has switched, or in fact use both as cannot live within MSWin.

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 7:28 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
simonmlewis wrote:
When I am installing and testing a website that currently points to another server, I update the hosts file in Windows to fake the IP - pointing the domain to our server IP. How do you do that on a Mac/iMac?

Yes, easily. Edit /etc/hosts

simonmlewis wrote:
On Windows Mail I have an email signature with our company logo embedded in it via a <img> tag to a hosted image. I cannot see how to implement that on the Mail App.

It can be done through Mail, though it's admittedly a little more fiddly than it need be. I'd check for a WikiHow or similar for that one. As I recall, you basically create an HTML snippet.

simonmlewis wrote:
I can install other Fonts on Windows really easily to work with for new clients if they have the font, or I have downloading one to use. It's usually a TTF file. How do you do the same thing on a Mac? Bearing in mind our strong security is on a Mac...!

Just drag and drop into the Fonts directory inside the Library director.

simonmlewis wrote:
For what I do, it may not be of benefit at all. I don't do hardly any video work. I do a fair bit on Photoshop, and a lot via a Browser, plus I handle emails and Skype all day. Plus, I am use to a Logitech ergo mouse that fills the hand. The Magic Mouse 2 (like the previous version) looks impossible to use all day. It's not designed for ergonomics at all. I've seen nothing but poor reviews on how uncomfortable it is to use for any length of time.

Just keep using your Logitec mouse, then. Easy peasy.

I've been developing on a Mac for years and there's no going back. Because macOS is UNIX, it very closely resembles the Linux environments to which you will likely be deploying. Having a proper shell available to you is hugely beneficial, not only for the native tools like awk, grep, etc, but because a lot of the build tools aimed at modern web development are built around the expectation that you will have a shell. I also find the tooling around macOS to generally be better and, perhaps most importantly for PHP development, PHP itself just works. Of course, getting Vagrant or Docker up and running is easier on Mac.

That's just off the top of my head over breakfast. I'm sure there's more that I'm not thinking of at the moment. I've developed on both platforms, and indeed have done so recently, so please feel free if you have more questions.

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 7:43 am 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
I don’t know what a shell is. Good point abt the mouse. Used one on a 27” today and it’s so fiddly. And my hands are not overly large.

I read abt hosts. Thanks.
I rarely do stuff now via phpmyadmin. So not really required much.
It’s whether I’d find Mac of benefit over current windows machine which is faultless for me. Is the standard 21.5 1920 HD? As they say the 4K is retina. I don’t tend to design graphics for 4K experience.

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
Honestly, if W10 is faultless, why are you seeking to replace it? Also, what does your workflow look like? What pain points do you encounter?

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:43 pm 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
None. It's more about "a change" I suppose.
But W10 works fine for me. In fact, I find Firefox works better on W10 than on MacBook Air (which hates it for some reason).

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:00 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
I'd circle back to the Apple Watch discussion, then. If it's not going to solve a problem you're having, what's the sense? I definitely prefer developing on a Mac, but most of my company works on PC, so there's not necessarily a question of one being better than the other.

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:00 am 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
I was looking at possible App development, and using my MacBook would be a good start, but perhaps an iMac in the new year to make it an easier environment for better angled view. I assume one cannot use Xcode on W10?

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:17 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
That definitely changes things. You are correct about XCode not being available on Windows, so you'll definitely need macOS for that. As you already have a MacBook, why not use that for both app and web development? It will be a great way to get a feel for it -- for if app development is something you wish to pursue, as well as how web development works and feels on a Mac -- and can then inform future purchase decisions. That's how I'd approach things, at any rate.

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:22 am 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
Because of my coding background, starting with HTML, through to CSS and PHP, I feel App Development is an advancement of this, and could be a great skill to have as I progress in my knowledge and skills.

I sat at an iMac a few weeks ago and it felt good. I think it was a 21.5". My windows machine has a 24" screen.

My MacBook Air is ok for this, though I tend to use it on the sofa, so mostly looking down to it.
Since I am using one of Apple's developer pages to learn Xcode, doing it on a MacBook is not terribly ideal because of screen size. That said, £1,300 is a lot to spent to get a bigger screen! Though having both Windows and Mac screens on one desk would 'look' pretty cool!

For now, it's only on my MacBook Air. I'll be aware in December so can use it to learn from there too.

I couldn't do all I do on a screen this size for web development. I like a 'bigger' screen.

Are you an App Developer...?

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:31 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
Rather than spending that kind of money on an iMac, maybe just get a second monitor? You could even use your existing monitor, really. At work I use a 13" MBP attached to two external monitors. At home I use a 13" MBP with no external monitors. Having the additional monitors is nice, but I don't miss them all that much when working from home. Took a little getting used to, going from a 24" iMac to a 13" MBP, but didn't really take that long and I find myself perfectly productive even on a little screen.

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:37 am 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
Think is, if I am working on websites on one screen and learning and setting up Apps (with a little luck!) on another, it's easier to switch between the two.
If I have someone on Skype messaging me and I switch to my Mac, I couldn't see their messages. That's why two monitors is easier.

In theory I could plug in a 21" monitor into my MacBook I suppose. But I kind of like the idea of having two monitors in my study, with my MacBook elsewhere for easy transport. But yes, it could be done like that.

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:45 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
simonmlewis wrote:
Think is, if I am working on websites on one screen and learning and setting up Apps (with a little luck!) on another, it's easier to switch between the two.
If I have someone on Skype messaging me and I switch to my Mac, I couldn't see their messages. That's why two monitors is easier.

I'll not argue with any of that. All depends on how you work.

simonmlewis wrote:
In theory I could plug in a 21" monitor into my MacBook I suppose. But I kind of like the idea of having two monitors in my study, with my MacBook elsewhere for easy transport. But yes, it could be done like that.

I definitely like being able to just get up and continue working elsewhere. At work I just unplug my external monitors, grab my laptop, and continue working elsewhere. Works a treat. Having to juggle plugging the monitors into a Mac adapter vs. into your Windows machine could be a bit of a chore too, I suppose.

One final thing to consider; your desk. I don't know what your existing setup is like, but an iMac isn't tiny, and it's going to require its own keyboard. Probably a separate mouse also. Could lead to an awfully cluttered desk. Things to consider.

I've no horse in this race, I'm just offering my thoughts and how I might approach things.

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:53 am 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
Thanks for all that.
I have a small desk at home, 40mm deep, and about 1100-1200mm wide. It's an old wooden one.
I am looking at replacing it (and the cupboard next to it) with a 1600mm wide desk. I can get one that is 400mm deep.
The small keyword that comes with an iMac 21.5 would be ok. I don't mind having two. Only concern is if I do a lot of work on one screen, might get neck ache looking that way.

This is why I was partly considering using only an iMac and seeing if I could switch from W10 to that.

I've measured up and get can two cupboards that take what's in the cabinet and the print can go on top of the desk on the right. I have a TV in the corner on the wall, but that can be put flush on the wall elsewhere close by.

This is all down to if I can grasp Xcode and Swift. I'll have lots of time over the holidays to look at it on my MacBook though.

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:39 pm
Posts: 6404
Location: Montreal, Canada
What about setting the Windows machine aside over the holiday and using the Air as your primary machine both for learning Swift and for handling whatever web development work you need to get done? Would be a trial by fire of sorts, but would also get you up to speed in a real-world setting pretty quickly. Might be a good way to assess whether or not an iMac makes sense?

_________________
Supported PHP versions No longer supported versions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:01 am 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4377
Location: United Kingdom
I won't be home for Christmas. I'll be in a sunnier and slightly warmer place. Almost as picturesque as parts of Canada! Definitely surrounded by mountains at the very least.

I'll be with family. Also not sure how I could connect my MacBook up to my big screen as it has a HDMI port with the Air doesn't have. Tho I suspect there are cables to convert it!

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group