PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Wed Sep 30, 2020 3:43 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:36 pm 
Offline
DevNet Master

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 4434
Location: United Kingdom
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
<select name='amount' style='padding: 7px; background-color: #EAEAEA'>
<option value='1'>1</option>
<option value='2'>2</option>
<option value='3'>3</option>
<option value='4'>4</option>
</select>
 


On this, I can set the padding and background colour of the dropdown as it appears. But can you select the "padding" or other factors in the menu itself... the 1, 2 3 4...?

I don't want to go silly with it, but would be nice to increase the padding of each option.

_________________
Love PHP. Love CSS. Love learning new tricks too.
All the best from the United Kingdom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:19 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:45 pm
Posts: 9
I saw there were no replies yet and I was curious and it was a fairly easy thing to test. Yes, you can do it. The first option had padding with more visible space surrounding the option value in the dropdown--it was the option I tested--see code below. As an aside, the convention for html element attribute values is to wrap them in double-quotes, not single-quotes as you had in your example. It may be even a requirement for a truly compliant html5 document which uses the
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
<!DOCTYPE html>
declaration--I've not tested that.

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
<select name="amount" style="padding: 7px; background-color: #EAEAEA">
<option value="1" style="padding: 7px;">1</option>
<option value="2">2</option>
<option value="3">3</option>
<option value="4">4</option>
</select>
 


I would probably opt for using jQuery to style the select tag and its options upon completion of page load on the client side if the tag was being created dynamically based on code that creates a form. If you know the tag will be in the document up front, I'd then use a a CSS stylesheet. You could save some bandwidth this way and keep the user-experience optimal by avoiding styling multiple or hundreds of option tags inline and sending them all over an internet connection.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group