PHP Developers Network
http://forums.devnetwork.net/

CHESS SITE
http://forums.devnetwork.net/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=141250
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Vegan [ Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:22 pm ]
Post subject:  CHESS SITE

My has several pages that are assembled with PHP

for some reason, the dialogs series of .... are changed into some unknown symbol and I cannot figure out why

i have tried careful code checking, was working but then it stopped with no changes outside more games played

here is a link to the for comparison

Author:  requinix [ Thu Apr 30, 2015 8:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE

So those are supposed to be dots? group1.php is using the UTF-8 encoding but the dots are in ISO 8859-1. (The group1.html page is using the latter so it appears correctly.)

I suspect is't the "ANSI" charset you're using. I'm not even sure that's a valid name for it. Use
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1">
<meta charset="ISO-8859-1">

Author:  Vegan [ Sat May 02, 2015 11:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE

I have tried that, same problem

I was able to partially fix it with a hard coded & code, but the .. was not fixed, only the isolated ones

I have even tried using a <font> to force the issue, no such luck

Author:  requinix [ Sat May 02, 2015 8:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE

Could be the output itself is wrong. What's the code there look like?

Author:  Vegan [ Sun May 03, 2015 6:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]

<html lang="en">

<head>
<meta content="en-us" http-equiv="Content-Language">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1">
<link href="http://computer-chess.azurewebsites.net/css/images.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<link href="http://computer-chess.azurewebsites.net/css/styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<link href="http://computer-chess.azurewebsites.net/css/tables.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<!-- <script src="http://computer-chess.azurewebsites.net/js/general.js" type="text/javascript"></script> -->
<!-- <script src="http://computer-chess.azurewebsites.net/js/advertisement.js" type="text/javascript"></script> -->
<meta content="900" http-equiv="refresh">
<title>Computer Chess: Tournaments</title>
</head>

<body id="body">

<!-- Header block --><?php include $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . "/menu.php"; ?>
<h1>CHESS TOURNAMENTS</h1>
<?php include $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . "/tournaments/group-body.php"; ?> <!-- the top body part -->
<?php include $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . "/tournaments/html/group1.html"; ?> <!-- Arena conveniently formats results -->
<?php include $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . "/footer.php"; ?> <!-- Footer block, legals etc -->

</body>

</html>


 

Author:  requinix [ Sun May 03, 2015 7:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE


Author:  Vegan [ Sun May 03, 2015 8:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE

nothing like that noticed and that is something that recently has been changed


I will inquires over in the Azure forum, maybe somebody over there has some ideas?

Thanks for looking, did not think my code as borked, seems pretty basic

Author:  Vegan [ Sun May 03, 2015 6:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CHESS SITE

I have figured out the problem, the PHP 5.6 is the problem, setting it back to 5.4 and the page rendered as expected

so I have brought this to the attention of the host, Microsoft Azure so that they can fix it, as I am now more confident my page is LEGAL and valid

I have had to add some PHP code to the page template to override the headers that are being imposed on me

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
<?php header('Content-Type: text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1'); ?>


I simply added this to the top of each page before the HTML tag, which now seems to work as desired

I fixed this post with the solution in case anyone else has been experiencing problems with older content that is not necessarily UTF-8 friendly etc

I am using PHP for document assembly so I have to graunch it with a header override, in my opinion that is a problem as negates the header already present in the HTML

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/