Timeout backfires

We know you have an opinion on how things should be run around here. These are suggestions for the forums, and the website.This forum is not a place to ask for suggestions to your own coding (or otherwise) problems.

Moderator: General Moderators

josh
DevNet Master
Posts: 4872
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:23 pm
Location: Palm beach, Florida

Timeout backfires

Post by josh »

Right now there's a 30 second time out on the search, or something like that. I notice if you click view your posts and view active tops (control click to open in new tab) and if you do it fast enough both go through (thus executing 2 searches per 30 second window instead of 1), if you are too slow the timeout is registered. Seems counter-intuitive, its incentive for me to pwn the server more ;-)

I know this is something that's not worth fixing but worth noting. The search timeout has always been one of my biggest complaints, and after all we are on a bigger server now.
User avatar
VladSun
DevNet Master
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by VladSun »

+1
My Opera browser has SpeedDial refresh enabled for DevNetWork forums (every 5 minutes), my dreambox set-top-box has a script fetching new posts on my topics (every 15 minutes) ... and when I click on "view my posts" and want to search them for a keyword ... blah :? :(
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't
josh
DevNet Master
Posts: 4872
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:23 pm
Location: Palm beach, Florida

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by josh »

Yea if someone has malice intent they'll just run it thru tor or some other anonymity/VPN service. Its probably more harmful for someone to request the logo in a loop than it is for them to temporarily increase the server load, because that way we'd incur bandwidth costs.

Without going into more detail, I feel this is one of those areas where we're not deterring the bad guys, but are hurting the good guys.

Before pytrin resolved the locking issues for us, the timeout actually helped. Before that I understood it, now I don't see the point. We should use mod_qos to block too frequent of requests to any page, but 1 page per 30 seconds is ridiculous. mod_qos could be used to block more than 30-40 requests per second per IP, that is more than reasonable. If the server is attacked the timeout can be used as a response measure, and appropriate action can be made at that time. pingdom is a free hosted ping monitor that will alert you if response time increases to above 30 seconds. http://www.pingdom.com/
User avatar
VladSun
DevNet Master
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by VladSun »

Really guys, pay some attention to this issue... it's very annoying!
:cry:
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
pickle
Briney Mod
Posts: 6445
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:11 pm
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W
Contact:

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by pickle »

I've mentioned this in the moderators forum. I'll get back to you once I know something.
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.
User avatar
Weirdan
Moderator
Posts: 5978
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 6:13 pm
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by Weirdan »

Can't reproduce. How does it look like - like standard browser tcp timeout or phpbb custom styled page?

Anyway, post a screenshot.
User avatar
VladSun
DevNet Master
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by VladSun »

Here you are :)
Attachments
search_failed.png
search_failed.png (56.88 KiB) Viewed 36230 times
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
pickle
Briney Mod
Posts: 6445
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:11 pm
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W
Contact:

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by pickle »

Maybe it's a restriction that doesn't apply to mods/admins - as when I open a new tab for the "View ... posts" links in the top right, I get all three right away. We'll need an admin to look at this, as I'm sure it's a phpBB setting.
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.
josh
DevNet Master
Posts: 4872
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:23 pm
Location: Palm beach, Florida

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by josh »

pickle wrote: I get all three right away.
I can replicate that by being fast, but if I try to go slow I get the timeout.
User avatar
Jonah Bron
DevNet Master
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by Jonah Bron »

Aaaaah! Opera!?? :dubious:

Well, at least you're using Linux... :-D
User avatar
VladSun
DevNet Master
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by VladSun »

Jonah Bron wrote:Aaaaah! Opera!?? :dubious:
Yes, it's fast :) really fast

And I always have a Firefox opened - for development/debugging :)
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't
josh
DevNet Master
Posts: 4872
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:23 pm
Location: Palm beach, Florida

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by josh »

Yeah my friend swears its faster than chrome, he calls chrome bloated, haha. What does that make firefox? Morbidly obese?

But yeah, this is definitely not browser specific. Its based on whether you're a mod or not, that makes sense.
User avatar
Jonah Bron
DevNet Master
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by Jonah Bron »

VladSun wrote:And I always have a Firefox opened - for development/debugging
Phew.
josh wrote:Yeah my friend swears its faster than chrome, he calls chrome bloated, haha. What does that make firefox? Morbidly obese?
I use the latest Firefox 4b12, so I don't know anything about this "slow, obese" you speak of :) . The latest builds really are fast. In fact, I saw a chart that stated that TraceMonkey is actually faster than Chrome, though that doesn't speak for DOM rendering speed and the level of responsiveness of the browser itself. But 3.6 was bad though.
josh
DevNet Master
Posts: 4872
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:23 pm
Location: Palm beach, Florida

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by josh »

Yeah? Try comparing cold start after a fresh bootup. Chrome beats firefox badly.
User avatar
Jonah Bron
DevNet Master
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: Timeout backfires

Post by Jonah Bron »

Not too bad, but it might be different on Windows. Firefox took about 2 seconds, Chromium took about 1. But also, I was talking about the Javascript engine, not the browser :) . Actually, bootup time never bothers me, because I almost never close my browser. I just suspend at night. Ah Ubuntu, how I love thee :mrgreen:
Post Reply