PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 9:03 am 
Offline
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:04 am
Posts: 633
Location: Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA
A common word we freelancers have is clientele, with the ` (backwards of that) character over the second e. I noticed that this doesn't work in the PMs and it wants to see ANSI text. The bug is that you end up with a white page if you try to post this. So, I had to go back, remove the special e and replace with a regular e, and then it worked.


Last edited by volomike on Tue May 06, 2008 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:04 pm 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Posts: 14293
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
Test:
Clientéle


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:05 pm 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Posts: 14293
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
I just you a PM to test this. Please reply when you can.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 4:39 am 
Offline
Breakbeat Nuttzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 8:57 am
Posts: 13098
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Backwards not forwards :)

Clientèle

~volomike, our boards are using UTF-8, not Latin1 by the way. If you're copying and pasting from ISO-8859-1 then your browser may potentially misinterpret the octets in the character.

PS: My house mate is driving me nuts


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:50 am 
Offline
Site Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Posts: 14293
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
I think that is the issue Chris. I was able to enter and post the character (even the wrong one at that) with no problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 5:44 pm 
Offline
Breakbeat Nuttzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 8:57 am
Posts: 13098
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hmm... thinking about it, getting a blank white page isn't cool. I can replicate it too. Just tried it. It's a fatal error from phpBB.

I suspect the bug is in phpBB :(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group