PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:42 pm 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey
What port do I need to open on my firewall for my nameserver?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 3:27 pm 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 3549
Location: Israel, ME
If you are using BIND, I think it's port 53. You should check the configuration file though


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 2:39 am 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey
Thanks, yep, I confirm it is port 53.

I am having some issues with this nameserver & zone files etc, so my original plan is falling apart and I am running out of time. Is there an easier way to do a catch all, so if any of the domains are unreachable they all point to the same webpage, i.e. a maintenace page?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 8:22 am 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 3549
Location: Israel, ME
I had thought about it again, and since you say your nameserver is not the server you are taking down the answer is simply changing the ip of the domain on the nameserver when you need to take it down. I'm not aware of a way to do this automatically without some middleware (clustering software for example)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 9:59 am 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey
That does sound like the best way. I have modified my configurations and setup a few test subdomains and it all seems to work perfectly. More manual, but a GREAT idea, thanks :)

That solves the website issue, but what about email? can I do the same?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 10:40 am 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 3549
Location: Israel, ME
I should think Email domains are resolved the same and thus should reach your backup server (provided you configured your mail server on it properly)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 10:44 am 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey
Sorry, that is what I meant, how do I configure the email accounts on the server? I have googled around, but none the wiser. Any good tutorials you're aware of?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 11:03 am 
Offline
DevNet Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 3549
Location: Israel, ME
There are literally dozens of different mail-servers (most common being Exim and postfix), so that's really hard to say. Probably best to use what comes packaged with your distribution. Configuring a mail server properly is quite a task, so if you have a working configuration you might consider duplicating it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 3:12 pm 
Offline
DevNet Resident
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1483
Location: Surrey


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:57 pm 
Offline
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 543
do you have a domain name? If you do,im sure that they would offer a panel for control allowing you to modify name servers. As for needed to have your own on top of that,im not entirely sure that you have to have one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group