"This post has already been reported."

We know you have an opinion on how things should be run around here. These are suggestions for the forums, and the website.This forum is not a place to ask for suggestions to your own coding (or otherwise) problems.

Moderator: General Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
VladSun
DevNet Master
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:44 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

"This post has already been reported."

Post by VladSun »

Can you make the button "disabled" in such case?
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't
beetree
Forum Commoner
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Peninsula

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by beetree »

Yes: <input type="submit" disabled>
User avatar
Apollo
Forum Regular
Posts: 794
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:34 am

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Apollo »

lol :)

btw, agree with VladSun.
User avatar
Jonah Bron
DevNet Master
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Jonah Bron »

+1. And disabled attribute ftw! :P
User avatar
McInfo
DevNet Resident
Posts: 1532
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by McInfo »

All it would require is a small modification in viewtopic.php (tested on phpBB v3.0.8).

From this:

Code: Select all

		'U_REPORT'			=> ($auth->acl_get('f_report', $forum_id)) ? append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}report.$phpEx", 'f=' . $forum_id . '&p=' . $row['post_id']) : '',
To this:

Code: Select all

		'U_REPORT'			=> (!$row['post_reported'] && $auth->acl_get('f_report', $forum_id)) ? append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}report.$phpEx", 'f=' . $forum_id . '&p=' . $row['post_id']) : '',
However, I think the current policy is to not make such modifications. :(
beetree
Forum Commoner
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Peninsula

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by beetree »

Not sure if I interpret you guys correctly. But I read it as being somewhat unfriendly. I'm new here but, don't see the point in all this.
User avatar
Jonah Bron
DevNet Master
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Jonah Bron »

@beetree: didn't mean to offend, we're just having fun :mrgreen:
User avatar
Benjamin
Site Administrator
Posts: 6909
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 10:24 pm

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Benjamin »

I'm going to be digging around in there. I'll modify that line shortly.
beetree
Forum Commoner
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Peninsula

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by beetree »

Jonah Bron wrote:@beetree: didn't mean to offend, we're just having fun :mrgreen:
Okay, cool. No problem. After I signed up I went around the forum and answered some questions to get a feel of the forum. I suppose that I stepped on some toes doing that. I'm happy to see that my answers were well received and proved helpful to those that actually posted well-intended questions at least :)

Talk to you trollers later! :P

/beetree
User avatar
Weirdan
Moderator
Posts: 5978
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 6:13 pm
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Weirdan »

beetree, this specific forum (PHPDN Suggestions) is intended to allow members to post suggestions to the moderators/admin team. So Vlad didn't mean to ask how to disable a button, but rather proposing changes to the forum software we use to disable the 'Report post' button under some circumstances.
User avatar
Jonah Bron
DevNet Master
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Jonah Bron »

beetree wrote:After I signed up I went around the forum and answered some questions to get a feel of the forum. I suppose that I stepped on some toes doing that.
I did notice that. Good on ya, that's encouraged. As far as I know, everyone's toes are just fine.
beetree
Forum Commoner
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Peninsula

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by beetree »

Weirdan wrote:beetree, this specific forum (PHPDN Suggestions) is intended to allow members to post suggestions to the moderators/admin team. So Vlad didn't mean to ask how to disable a button, but rather proposing changes to the forum software we use to disable the 'Report post' button under some circumstances.
This explains so much. Thanks :)

My apologies...
User avatar
Benjamin
Site Administrator
Posts: 6909
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 10:24 pm

Re: "This post has already been reported."

Post by Benjamin »

This has been implemented.
Post Reply