Who fancies a community effort to write a book?

Where we keep all the boring tidbits about the PHPDN site, the news, and what not.

Moderator: General Moderators

Who fancies a community effort to write a book?

Postby Chris Corbyn » Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:28 pm

This is just a thought at the moment. Basically, I started writing a PHP book (aimed at beginners more than anything) about 6 months ago. I got a few chapters done but then bogged down in other work and haven't picked it up again. Now I can't find the original book :( but I'm sure it's around somewhere. I had all the document nicely set up in Open Office with the templates for adding PHP Code, starting new chapters etc etc.

I wouldn't mind picking it up again but I know I'm only going to have time to write bits here and there and my own feeling is that a community effort would create a really strong book (read, I'm no expert!).

It's just going to be an eBook but published in a way that, if ever it did go to print would be nicely formatted for paper.

The idea is that I open up a version control repository somewhere so that the book can be checked in and out and changes tracked but I'm just wondering who'd actually be interested on working on something like this? Not sure when I'll get a chance to make a start on it but hopefully at some point over the next few weeks.

It'll start basic with things about the history, installing etc etc, move onto basic PHP scripts, get off on the right foot by talking about register_globals, magic_quotes and other evil things, discuss limitations/security risks on shared hosts, introduce mysql (and possibly postgres) but keep away from anything but the basic of sql itself and focus more on the php side of it, basics of OOP, introduce patterns and cover a few very briefly and also a short section on testing.

Post here if you'd be interested - no need to PM me :)