What happened with the single sing-on?

This forum is for discussing the future of the PHP Developer's Network, as well as for us to get your opinion on things.

This forum is not for asking programming related questions.

Moderator: General Moderators

adnoctum
Forum Newbie

What happened with the single sing-on?

Post by adnoctum »

Hi.

I am a big fan of all of you guys. Almost every day visit PHPDeveloper and use PHPClasses.org.

When PHPDevNetwork was launched you said that a single sing-on system (like Passport) will be built to join the three sites that created the network. I was hoping you had make some advances in that area and wanted to know more about that subject. Specialy I have some questions:

Have you all agreed on some information exchange format?
Is It some public XML format?
What solution have you in mind to create the cookie for the other sites?

I've been investigating this subject for a couple of months now and found a lot of proyects but nothing real yet. (I mean, a working product)

Thanks
jason
Site Admin

Post by jason »

As you can well imagine, what we want to do is not entirely easy. It's something we want to do, however, their are many issues to cover (not just technical, but also privacy/legal wise).

It's still my goal to get this working, however, I am going to work on it over time. So don't expect it any time soon (but we aren't dropping it from the todo list. :D )
ZaireWeb
Forum Newbie

Post by ZaireWeb »

If someone wrote a system, and passed it to you, would you consider using it?
jason
Site Admin

Post by jason »

The system would have to meet certain criteria. Essentially, it would have to be DB independant, system configurable, and as fast as can be (amongst other things).
ZaireWeb
Forum Newbie

Post by ZaireWeb »

Why not post a list of features/requirements it should have and have a little "compitition" ?

Good Idea Eh?
MattF
Forum Contributor

Post by MattF »